TRIED AND TRUE

Just a short post about that phrase. It is familiar to most of us. What do YOU immediately think of when you read that phrase? If you do an internet search using that phrase and check out the images, you get allusions to recipes, marital advice and even toy testing. My wife gave the answer “an honorable soldier”. In some ways, that shouldn’t surprise me in the least. I will get back to that in a moment.

  Many years ago, when I entered the military, we were transitioning over from the FN C1 as the service rifle to the new Colt C7A1. For some of us that were trained in other longer range weapons, the transition was about the same time from the old Parker Hale or C3A1 to the new C14 Timberwolf. To some of you this has become real boring real fast! Sorry, I will move to my point. In order for a new service rifle to be accepted into the list of infantry weapons; it had to pass all the stringent pre-field as well as in-field testing. In other words, it had to become tried before it became true. Allow me a few more minutes on the military referencing. I would go out either to the range and/or in field exercises with a new rifle AND a new scope. I, like many people was a creature of habit! I LIKED my old scope. I LIKED my old Parker Hale! Why do I have to change? So now, I have to get used to dialing in the scope using all the formulations ( I still REALLY hate Calculus!!!!) required and comparing that will straight bore sighting and “iron sights”. Trying it and trying it and trying it. THEN and only then could I designate it as true. True in its’ aim, true in its view and true in its’ purpose.

c3a1

Okay, back to my wife’s comment. An honorable soldier. It was not until I was tried and tried and tried in maneuvers, in training and in deployments that I could be deemed “true”. It was not until I had been tried and tried and tried in squad and fire team tactics that I was accepted as part of the team and deemed “true”. See where I’m going with this? For the believer  and follower of Jesus, the calling as a soldier of the cross is NOT a Crusade against a human enemy! It is a battle for people’s salvation- their souls; and it is against the demonic forces of the evil one -Satan. We need to be tried and true. How does that happen?Faithful in little

The Bible tells it like it is! We are tried in first “little things”. Are we reliable? Are we honest? Do we do what is right and good when the “cameras aren’t on”?  Do we obey without grumbling or like me, start bipping off about not wanting to change! With each level of spiritual warfare training comes new missions and new responsibilities from Him. I get alarmed when I read posts on social media from believers who think they are ready to go charging right to the front lines! Whoa!! Let God tell you when, where and how! I have an amazing little sister in Christ who is fast becoming a bit of a martial arts warrior…in training. She is even more so becoming a dependable and honorable soldier of Jesus on the frontlines! NOT because of katanas and bokkens for practise…but by prayer; by trial and by testing in fire. NOW I see a warrior ready to be “tried and true” under spiritual fire ( The Bible says that our armor of God is to quench the fiery darts of the enemy Fiery darts

What about you? Are you ready, willing and then by trial after trial be “able”? We are called to endure hardship.

Endure

That basically means we are to be tried before being declared true. Join the fray! Endure the hardship of His testing of us. We who stand and endure to the end WILL be saved. Let’s serve with honor so that more will be brought to Him!!

7 thoughts on “TRIED AND TRUE

  1. AMEN. . . and so very true. We have to be “tried” in the little areas, but here’s the good news (but not so good, if somebody is being stubborn and not yielding to the guidance of the Holy Spirit): we keep getting to take the same test over and over and over again. This is very likely why MOST professing “Christians” never grow spiritually. He/she is “stuck on self” . . . and can’t get past the simple command:

    “Be devoted to one another in brotherly love; give preference to one another in honor.” – Romans 12:10

    So, if we focus on serving OTHERS instead of self, spiritual growth happens automatically. . . bullseye!!
    If we focus on self, that would be like trying to shoot a target, while looking in the mirror. . uhhhhh, not likely going to come close to the target and might even end up shooting oneself in the foot.

    Like

Leave a comment