I..I…I’M AFRAID SIR!

Soldier's courage

This picture speaks volumes to me! Why? All of us experience fear in our everyday lives. All of us know how paralyzing it can be. For some reason (probably corny movies) we think all soldiers are Rambo and have NO fear. That, dear friends, is patently untrue. I can remember times of abject terror or near enough. The reason I love this quote is that I can relate so well. Oh I was afraid; but, I knew deep down that the “something else” that was more important was my squad mates and the mission.

Now, you don’t have to be a veteran believer to see the parallel. Forgive the repetition, but we ARE in a war. Oh I don’t mean what is going on in our current world – whether it is fear of WWIII starting over Iran’s attacks on the US Embassy, or the constant threat of radicals attacking Israel – or even the rise of terror cells in the US or here in Canada. I’m talking the eternal – the war we believers, the soldiers who answer to the King of Kings, are engaged in with the evil one and his people – either demonic or human. The Bible reminds us time and again that we are called to put on the armor of God ( you didn’t think that meant a party outfit did you???) to stand against the evil one and fight the good fight.

My namesake, began as a lowly shepherd boy (remember that for a bit), but was chosen by God to be a king. He was called – despite his failings and sins – a man after God’s own heart! 

Psalm 144:1

Praise be to the LORD my Rock, who trains my hands for war, my fingers for battle. He is my loving God and my fortress, my stronghold and my deliverer, my shield, in whom I take refuge, who subdues peoples under me.

The Bible contains the phrase “do not be afraid” 365 times!!!! Um…that would be oh such a coincidence that there are 365 days in a year!

I can’t begin to tell you how many times I witnessed newbies and even some experienced soldiers that would fret, stew and worry over, to me, the dumbest things. Forgive me if I confess that I feel God must do a facepalm so many times over our silly and useless worry. I would walk them through all that was in them that qualified them to be ready, able and equipped to do battle. Doesn’t Scripture do the same for us? Countless times Scripture reminds us through the stories that God IS our Rock…our Deliverer, our strong tower and on and on. Shoot! even one of my favourite spirituals starts out with “Why should I be discouraged…” (His eye is on the Sparrow).

I am not without fear. That isn’t what this post is about. I still experience it. Still to this day, though much diminished, the ptsd induced nightmares are fear based – what if I miss? What if my overwatch fails and mates die from enemy fire? What if my gun jams? etc etc.

The evil one would have us believe we are not strong enough to win this battle. He is right! BUT  1John 4:4 says that He who is in us is greater than he who is in the world! Romans 8:31 If God is for us, who can be against us? HE has already won the victory, people, what we face now – even if it becomes a hellstorm is merely the death throes of the evil one.

I will encourage you to fear though – fear (reverent awe and obedience) Almighty God. Fear Him as your King, obey Him as your Sovereign and march forth because He is your Saviour! I grew up hearing Onward Christian Soldiers. We need to sometimes go back to those old powerful hymns that remind us we are not in some laser show worship time to build us up into an experiential frenzy. WE ARE SOLIERS! THIS IS WAR! Don’t let the enemy distract or dissuade you. For every time you get suckered into watching the news (won’t even get into how fake and manipulative the media is) then spend 3 times as much time reading about how awesome and powerful our God is.

Remember I said to keep in mind David the shepherd? Well! What does Jesus refer to us as? Sheep! We are of HIS fold. HE is our Shepherd- a shepherd that sought us and bought us. He WILL defend us. He leads us in defeated? NOPE !!! TRIUMPHANT procession! The quote I leave you with is from one of the greatest military minds in history. Though he surely wasn’t a believer, he captured the known world because he knew his “sheep”. What did he fear?…read the quote…and be a sheep! For the Lion of Judah reigns!!!

Sheep led by lion

 

 

Leave a comment