Waiting is never easy

Hurry up and wait

 

You’ve done all you can. You have prepped physically, your mind is set as best as you can. You are ready and eager to get on with it….but you are in a holding pattern. It may be the plane isn’t ready or there are new orders pending. Whatever the reason, there you are..either pre-deployment or even when you hit the ground. It stinks! It stinks big time! Why? because then all the intrusive thoughts start to flood your mind: “Am I REALLY ready?” “What is happening back home?” “What if I am wounded or killed?” Already, the enemy is in your head – even before a shot is fired. It is without a doubt, one of the worst things to happen. Once the fur flies, all those thoughts and doubts are gone. Then it is the mission that matters and you DO know what you are doing. NO soldier is trained in how to wait.

No warrior for Jesus, Yeshua the Messiah is ever trained PROPERLY in how to wait. We are told too often that we must “always be ready to give an answer for the hope within”(1Peter 3:15) We are told to stand fast and be ready for battle….but that to me, speaks more of once we are on the battlefield. What about now? What, if like me, you feel like you are in mud. You aren’t really moving forward in His great plan for your life, you are just on hold. I have read and re-read the Isaiah promise and I admit some confusion…and yet some hope as well.

 

Wait.jpg

Now, I realize that the translation of “wait” means to trust. In this instance, however, I will take a liberty and translate it literally. Not only in this time of waiting will I renew strength that I haven’t even used yet, but, I will be ready to run! I will walk the trails of His purpose without weariness. The chorus that many times I sang in the past, ends with “Teach me Lord, teach me Lord, to wait.” Well, I don’t WANT to wait, Lord! I want to get going! There is so little time left! Give me something to do! Do you see what is wrong with that sentiment? NONE OF THE MISSION IS UP TO ME!!…Especially the timing. I KNOW Jesus is returning soon. I KNOW that there is much to do. I don’t know when…and so like the bridesmaids of Jesus’ parable, my job is simply to always have the oil full in my lamp and the wick trimmed and ready to be lit! I personally think it stinks lol…but He is in charge.  I was a “get ‘er done” type of soldier. Give me a mission, give me the necessary equipment and I was gone! Now? I’m waiting. So, what does a warrior do when he/she is waiting? Two “things” really, One is right and one is wrong! The wrong one is get plagued with doubts and distractions. That dear friend is deadly –  both to the warrior and to the mission. The second one is prepare, check over equipment, go over in your mind your abilities and gifts and most of all, pray. I never met one soldier on a mission that didn’t even of a sudden begin to cry out to God! The old adage IS true…there are no atheists in a foxhole. For those of us who KNOW that our Redeemer IS alive and on the latter day shall stand on this earth(Job 19:25), the waiting is to be used wisely. Warrior!!! study and pray if you, like me, are in a holding pattern. Seek wise counsel and LISTEN to it. God didn’t give “veterans” to us for cannon fodder!! They are to be heeded, because they have been there and know the keys to mission success. Encourage one another to be ready and to believe in their mission and their Commander- the Lord Jesus, our Saviour and coming King. Redeem the time given you! Look at these 2 verses from Ephesians 5.

15 Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise,16 making the best use of the time, because the days are evil.

Let our “down” time be His time to teach, strengthen and learn. SOON and very soon there will be NO waiting, for we will be in the fight of our lives…ALL for Him and His kingdom. Don’t begrudge the ones already out on a mission. Pray for them and uphold them. Know that your time is coming. Are you ready? ONLY the prepared are used. I am not prepared, so, hence I wait. Thank You Lord, for making me wait.

4 thoughts on “Waiting is never easy

  1. Perfect! And is exactly where I am lol. Excellent post, I needed to know I was not having all these frustrating feelings alone.. Those who wait upon the Lord..I believe i just posted this verse to friend an hour ago. Thank you:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What if the mind is ready but the body is not? Guess you had the answer in the Isaiah quote.

    The first assault on christians will be physical food,comfort will be taken away. Second assault will be societal, benefits and rights will be taken.

    Third assault will be from within family and church.

    Once you are alone with what the Lord salvaged for you its only Jesus left!

    Matthew 24 step by step…….

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment